Foundation Board

The swisspeace Foundation Board establishes and oversees the yearly and multi-year strategic work program of the Foundation and accepts the annual financial statements and the budget. It also formulates and develops the guiding principles for swisspeace's work.


Dr. Jakob Kellenberger
Mr. Kellenberger was State Secretary for Foreign Affairs and Political Director from 1992-1999. He was President of the International Committee of the Red Cross from 2000-2012. At present he is teaching at the Swiss Federal Institute for Technology in Zurich, at the University of Salamanca and the Graduate Institute for International Studies and Development in Geneva.
Member of the Executive Committee


Prof. Dr. Frédéric Varone
is professor for political science and director of the Master in Public Management (MAP) at the University of Geneva, as well as President of the European Universities offering a Master degree in Public Administration (EMPA).
Member of Executive Committee


Peter Ammann
is owner of the financial advisory company Peter Ammann Finanzberatung in Bern and has been a member of the parliament of the City of Bern since 2010.
Member of Executive Committee

Dr. Isabelle Chevalley
is a member of the Swiss National Council and a member of the Science, Education and Culture Committee. She is also president of the Swiss-Africa Parliamentarian Group.

Dr. Beat Dietschy
From 2007-2016 he was director of Bread for all, the development service of the Swiss Protestant Churches. He is currently president of COMUNDO and has many years of working experience in development cooperation, namely in Latin America.

Angelo Gnädinger
was the special representative for the South Caucasus of the OSCE-Chairperson-in-Office. Prior to that, he was director general of the International Committee of the Red Cross and interim executive director at the Centre for Humanitarian Dialogue.
Member of the Executive Committee

Ambassador Heidi Grau
is head of the Human Security Division of the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs since August 2015. In 2012 she was appointed as the head of the OSCE Chairmanship Task Force. Previously held several diplomatic posts since 1997 in Bern, Moscow and New York.

Dr. Josef Lang 
has been a member of the Swiss National Council from 2003 to 2011 and was a member of its Defence Committee.

Roberto Lazzari
is managing director of the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences of the University of Basel.

Esther Maurer
is currently director of the NGO Solidar Suisse. From 1998-2010 she was City Councilor and head of the Department of Police of the City of Zurich.

Dr. Markus Mäder
is Head of International Relations Defense in the Swiss Armed Forces Staff. He directs and coordinates the armed forces’ international relations, both at bi- and multilateral levels.  

Prof. Dr. Peter Messerli
is Director of Centre for Development and Environment (CDE) of the University of Bern and senior research scientist focusing on sustainability science and sustainable development research.

Eric Sarasin
is consultant in financial matter for families and foundations in Switzerland and abroad (White Sail Consulting Ltd.). He is also an active Private Equity Investor, and amongst others, Ambassador of Human Rights Watch in Basel.

Barbara Schmid-Federer
is a member of the Swiss National Council and has been president of the Zurich Swiss Red Cross cantonal association since 2011.

Dr. Rolf Tanner
is head of media relations and financial reporting as well as spokesperson at Swiss Re in Zurich.

Prof. Dr. Andreas Wenger
is professor for international and Swiss security policy at the Center for Security Studies, ETH Zurich.

Dr. Cyrille Girardin
holds a PhD in neuroscience. He has been a scientific advisor for the State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation since May 2017. Prior to that, he was a project mentor and grand writer at the University of Fribourg.